From the Transitway to the O-Train: An Overview of Stage 2’s Western Expansion

O-Train Line 1 (Stage 1) opened on September 14, 2019, and featured 13 stations from Blair in the east to Tunney's Pasture in the west. The O-Train is quickly being expanded to add additional service coverage in the East, West and South of Ottawa, in a project called Stage 2 LRT. This video will provide an overview of the Western Extension of O-Train Line 1, which will extend service West of Tunney's Pasture station to Moodie (near Kanata) and Algonquin (in Nepean). 

Stage 2 will see O-Train Line 1 split into two lines, Line 1 and Line 3. The main difference will be west of Lincoln Fields station where the line splits into two: Line 1, which continues to Algonquin Station to the Southwest, and Line 3, which continues to Moodie Station to the west. This line extension will be 15km in length and add 11 stations to Line 1 and Line 3. An interesting particularity of this segment is that it will feature several tunnel segments in the alignment. Once completed, local bus routes will be realigned to directly serve the nearest O-Train station, thereby providing a quick and convenient connection to the O-Train and the rest of the city.